We are delighted to announce the winners of Wigtown Poetry Competition 2017:


Main Prize Winner: Patrick Errington

Main Prize Runner Up: Liz Lefroy

Main Prize Highly Commended: Pat Borthwick

Main Prize Highly Commended: Lewis Camley

Main Prize Highly Commended: Sarah Leavesley

Main Prize Highly Commended: Patrick Errington


Scottish Gaelic Prize Winner: Marcas Mac Tuairneir

Scottish Gaelic Prize Highly Commended: Eoghan Stewart

Scottish Gaelic Prize Highly Commended: Nathaniel Harrington


Scots Prize Winner: Jim Waite

Scots Prize Highly Commended: Aileen Ballantyne

Scots Prize Highly Commended: Bill Boyd


Please see 2017 category listings for poems.




Join us for readings and celebrations at the Wigtown Poetry Competition 2017 Prize Giving Event on Saturday 30 September, 6pm.


Scotland’s International Poetry Prize, Open to All
In association with Saltire Society, Scottish Poetry Library and The Gaelic Books Council