Laura Bates

The Trial

Online Event
Online event
Fri 24 Sep
19:00 UK
Free, ticketed

This is an online event and will be streamed on our website. Online access is free but please consider paying what you can. Booking for online events is optional, but by reserving an online ticket you will receive a reminder beforehand.

No matter how you try to hide it, the truth will always come out … the explosive new YA from the multi award-winning author, gender equality activist and founder of Everyday Sexism.

After a plane crash sees a group of seven teens washed up on a desert island, their first thought is survival. But a terrible secret from a party the night before has followed them ashore. Facing deadly threats and the fear of being stranded forever, they quickly discover that being the most popular kid in High School doesn’t help when you’re fighting to stay alive. As the island deals each of them a dangerous blow, it’s clear that someone is looking for justice. Now survival depends on facing the truth about that party: who was hurt that night, and who let it happen?

About the author: Laura Bates is the founder of the Everyday Sexism Project and writes regularly for the New York Times, Guardian, Telegraph and many others. She is a regular contributor to the Today Programme, Woman's Hour, Channel 4 News, Newsnight and more, and has been awarded a British Empire Medal in the Queen's Honours List for services to gender equality. 

Reviews

“This is a hard and challenging read, but its power and necessity are impossible to deny” – The Guardian  

“Essential reading for fans of Holly Bourne and Louise O’Neill” – Observer


Laura's book, The Trial is available from the Wigtown Book Festival shop HERE

Wigtown Book Festival Events

This year's programme is a combination of physical and digital events. Please ensure you book correctly. Digital events will stream through the homepage of wigtownbookfestival.com with young adult events streaming through the YA page.

Unless otherwise stated, events will last between 45 minutes - 1 hour.

Full Terms and Conditions for attending this year's Festival in person can be found on our website.

Asking questions
On live-streamed events, questions can be put into the live chat box on YouTube or by clicking the 'ask a question' box below the stream on the homepage of the website and they will be forwarded to the speakers.

Buy the books
Browse our online bookshop, which will stock all our speakers’ latest titles.

Queries
If you have any queries about any of the Wigtown Festival Company events, please don’t hesitate to get in touch by emailing mail@wigtownbookfestival.com.