Dean Atta

The Black Flamingo

Online Event
Mon 28 Sep
21:00 UK
Free, ticketed

Fiercely told, this is a powerful coming-of-age story told in verse, from one of the UK’s leading poets, Dean Atta. Perfect for fans of Sarah Crossan and Poet 

We sit down with author and co-director of Scottish BAME Writers Network, Dean Atta, to talk about his Stonewall Book Award winner, The Black Flamingo. A powerful coming-of-age story told in verse,  it finds university student Michael in the stage wings, wearing a pink wig, pink fluffy coat and black heels. It’s been a brave journey to get here and he is almost ready to reveal himself to the world. One more step will put him in the spotlight. Can he emerge as The Black Flamingo?  

Celebratory and passionate, Atta's bold verse novel calls to its readers to find their own blazing, performative inner truth” The Guardian    

Dean Atta was named as one of the most influential LGBT people in the UK by the Independent on Sunday. His debut poetry collection, I Am Nobody’s Nigger, was shortlisted for the Polari First Book Prize. The Black Flamingo was shortlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Medal, YA Book Prize and Jhalak Prize. His writing dealing with themes of race, gender and sexuality has appeared on the BBC and Channel 4, and in his regular column for Attitude magazine.


How do online events work?

Adults & young people

Unless otherwise indicated, you can watch events on our website homepage (or on the event page in the programme), or on our YouTube channel. We'll send you further information nearer the time.

During the event, you can ask a question by using the box on the homepage, or in the chat box on YouTube (you'll need a google account for the latter).


Children

Unless otherwise indicated, Children's events will be streaming to the Big Wig Facebook page.


If the event is free do I need to sign up?

No. You can go to our website or YouTube channel and watch most events without registering. However, it’s still worth signing up as you will be sent a link to the event and a reminder 30 minutes beforehand.

Further information and FAQs


Catch up

Many of the events will be available on catch up.


Buy the book

Browse our festival bookshop, which has titles from nearly every event in the programme.