Dean Atta

The Black Flamingo

Online Event
Event now over
Catch up available

Fiercely told, this is a powerful coming-of-age story told in verse, from one of the UK’s leading poets, Dean Atta. Perfect for fans of Sarah Crossan and Poet 

We sit down with author and co-director of Scottish BAME Writers Network, Dean Atta, to talk about his Stonewall Book Award winner, The Black Flamingo. A powerful coming-of-age story told in verse,  it finds university student Michael in the stage wings, wearing a pink wig, pink fluffy coat and black heels. It’s been a brave journey to get here and he is almost ready to reveal himself to the world. One more step will put him in the spotlight. Can he emerge as The Black Flamingo?  

Celebratory and passionate, Atta's bold verse novel calls to its readers to find their own blazing, performative inner truth” The Guardian    

Dean Atta was named as one of the most influential LGBT people in the UK by the Independent on Sunday. His debut poetry collection, I Am Nobody’s Nigger, was shortlisted for the Polari First Book Prize. The Black Flamingo was shortlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Medal, YA Book Prize and Jhalak Prize. His writing dealing with themes of race, gender and sexuality has appeared on the BBC and Channel 4, and in his regular column for Attitude magazine.